Whether you are sick of a Facebook request from the same person over and over or whether someone is trolling you on Twitter, it is easy to block someone on social media sites. Check out these steps to block someone on all the major social media sites:

RELATED: HOW TO Block Someone On Gmail

1. Facebook

If you’ve already followed our tips on how to unfriend someone on Facebook and someone annoying is still pestering you, you have the option to completely block that person. By blocking someone on Facebook you not only unfriend them, but you also prevent that person from:

  • Seeing things that you post;
  • Tagging you;
  • Inviting you to events or groups;
  • Sending you a message; or
  • Sending you a friend request.

You will also not be able to see anything the blocked person tags, posts, etc.

Here’s how:

Go to the person’s Facebook profile > Click on the More grey box on the far right at the top of the person’s profile > Choose Block from the drop-down menu > Click Confirm > Okay

Block Someone On Social Media

2. Twitter

Twitter can be a great way to stay up to date with news and people’s daily lives, but it can also be a platform for creepy people and trolling bullies. When you block someone on Twitter you are still able to see their profile and view their Tweets (unless they also block you), but they won’t be able to see anything you post. The only thing the blocked person will be able to see is your Twitter avatar and a message on your timeline that reads: “You are blocked from following @XX and viewing @XX’s Tweets “. The blocked person will be prevented from:

  • Following you;
  • Tweeting you;
  • Mentioning you in a Tweet;
  • Viewing your Tweets; and
  • DM’ing you.

You will not see Tweets in your Timeline or get notifications from the blocked person.

Here’s how:

Go to the person’s Twitter account > Click on the More User Actions icon (the gear icon at the top right) > Choose Block from the drop-down menu > Click Block

Block Someone On Social Media

3. Instagram

Instagram could be great to share special moments or show off your photography skills. But it could also be a great way for people to spam you or for bullying and trolling. When you block someone on Instagram:

  • They are unable to see any of your photos;
  • They can’t tag you in any of their photos; and
  • They can’t mention you in any comments.

Here’s how:

Go to the person’s Instagram account > Click on the Options icon on the right (the three dots next to the username at the top) > Choose Block User or Report for Spam > Click Yes, I’m sure

4. LinkedIn

LinkedIn is a professional platform, but some users don’t seem to understand this and might make the environment uncomfortable and unprofessional. Sometimes it’s also a good idea to block your employer or fellow employees, especially if you are looking for a new job. By blocking someone on LinkedIn you are both prevented from:

  • Viewing each other’s profiles; and
  • Sending each other messages.
  • If you were connected with that person you are also no longer connected.

Here’s how:

Go to the person’s LinkedIn profile > Hover your cursor over the blue Down icon (next to the Send Message box) > Choose Block or Report from the drop-down menu > Tick the top Block box > Click Continue > Click Agree

5. Pintrest

If you’re trying to hide your ideas from copy cats or just sick of constantly getting notifications from the same person all day long, there is an easy way to block someone on Pinterest. Once you’ve blocked someone:

  • You are unable to follow each other or interact with each other on Pinterest (Liking, Pinning or Commenting); and
  • All previous comments will be removed.

Here’s how:

Go to the person’s Pinterest profile > Click on the Gear icon at the top > Choose Report this profile from the drop-down menu > Click Block > Click Confirm

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 1.23.21 AM

6. YouTube

YouTube and trolling go hand-in-hand and some users are just unpleasant when it comes to commenting. If another YouTube user is annoying you, you can block them to prevent them from:

  • Commenting on your videos; and
  • Sending you private messages.

Here’s how:

Go to the person’s YouTube profile > Click on the About box on the right > Click on the Flag icon on the left > Choose Block User from the drop-down menu > Click Confirm

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 1.10.40 AM

7. Tumblr

Sometimes you are just trying to be the best at the Internet by posting adorable cat memes and reblog GIFs of Will Ferrell, but some person is being really annoying and cramping your style with their stupid comments. Once you’ve blocked a person on Tumblr they will be barred from:

  • Sending you messages; and
  • Seeing your posts.

You will also stop seeing the blocked person’s posts, notifications or comments.

Here’s how:

Click on the Settings icon on the right (the gear icon) > Choose Ignore Users from the drop down menu > Enter the person’s URL or username into Ignore Users search bar > Click Ignore

8. Google Plus

If you are one of the few users that are still on Google Plus you can block another person to prevent that person from commenting on your content and stop their content from appearing in your stream.

Here’s how:

Go to the person’s Google Plus profile > Click on the Arrow box on the bottom right of the person’s profile > Choose Report/Block XX from the drop-down menu > Tick the Block XX box at the bottom > Click Done

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 1.14.06 AM