It’s everyone’s worst nightmare – you just sent an email to someone by mistake and now you just can’t get it back. Whether you were drunk, made lots of typos or sent it to the completely wrong recipient, we can all agree that an undo send email button is a must.

RELATED: “WHICH PHONE” IS A GOOGLE TOOL THAT HELPS YOU PICK AN ANDROID PHONE

Undo Send Email 2

Google have heard our cries (probably literally) and now let’s users undo send email within a few seconds of hitting send. When you enable the Undo Send option you will be able to unsend an email for up to 30 seconds after you hit send. The Undo Send option is currently only available for the web browser version of Gmail.

RELATED: HOW TO BLOCK SOMEONE ON GMAIL

 

The option was previously a very popular feature in Gmail Labs – a way for Gmail to experiment with new options and features. Now, Undo Send is a formal setting for the web browser version of Gmail.

Undo Send EmailThe featured, unless you have already enabled it with Labs, is turned off by default, so you will have to enable it.

Here’s how to set it up:

  1. Login to your Gmail account on your browser (not the app);
  2. Click on the Gear Icon;
  3. Select Settings;
  4. Select the General Tab;
  5. Scroll to the bottom and enable Undo Send;
  6. Choose between a delay of sending period of 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds; and
  7. Save changes.

Undo Send Email